Cookie Notice

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our cookies information for more details.

OK
MENU
Back to Top

New Dialogues Planned for World Dementia Council

The World Dementia Council (WDC) has announced their next global dialogues as part of the Dementia Landscape Project. From late 2020 to early 2021, the WDC has held a series of online conversations for 350 global leaders from across the dementia field and around the world. The dialogues are helping to inform a report expected to launch later this year looking at the progress the international community has made on the 2025 commitments on research, care, awareness and risk reduction that were set at the G8 London dementia summit in 2013.
There are three upcoming global dialogues -

  • Data sharing for dementia research: 9 June 2021 11am ET / 4pm BST / 5pm CET / 11pm SST
    Co-chaired by Dr Lara Mangravite, president of Sage Bionetworks and Dr Tetsu Maruyama, director of the Alzheimer’s Disease Data Initiative with opening presentations by Dr Suzana Patanceska programme director in Neuroscience at the NIA, Professor Andrew Morris, Director of Health Data Research UK, and Dr Alison Bradshaw project officer at Alzheimer’s Europe.
  • Dementia and an ageing society: 30 June 2021 9am ET / 2pm BST / 5pm CET / 9pm SST
    Co-chaired by Professor Shekhar Saxena, Professor of the Practice of Global Mental Health at Harvard and Sarah Lock, Senior Vice President for Policy at AARP.
  • Health system readiness and dementia: 7 July 2021 11am ET / 4pm BST / 5pm CET / 11pm SST
    Dr Peggy Hamburg, former commissioner of the FDA and Professor Howard Bergman, Professor of Family Medicine and Oncology at McGill.

To date, the WDC has held dialogues on: biomarkers and early treatments; care; prevention; technology; clinical trial development; and dementia in low and middle income countries. After each of the sessions they published transcripts of the presentations and conversation in addition to the first of a collection of essays on the research landscape.

IPA members are encouraged to check out the WDC resources linked above to learn more.

Acknowledgements

Acadia Pharmaceuticals Avanir Pharmaceuticals Cambridge University Press Otsuka Pharmaceuticals
CORPORATE COUNCILS