Cookie Notice

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our cookies information for more details.

Back to Top

Board of Directors

IPA Officers (Executive Committee) - Effective 1 January 2024

Anne Margriet Pot, PhD, Netherlands
President (2024-2025)

For the past 30 years, Prof dr Anne Margriet Pot has dedicated her work on improving the mental health of, and care for older people through research, policy, education and clinical practice. [READ MORE]
Adriana P. Hermida, MD, United States
President-Elect (2024-2025)

Dr. Adriana P. Hermida is a Professor at Emory University School of Medicine in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Science. In addition to her role as the Geriatric Psychiatry Fellowship Director, she holds the positions of Geriatric Outpatient Clinic Director and Chief of the Geriatric Division.[READ MORE]

Diego de Leo, MD, PhD, Italy
Secretary (2024-2025)

Prof. Diego De Leo, Doctor of Science, is Emeritus Professor of Psychiatry at Griffith University in Brisbane. Professor De Leo is Past President of the International Association for Suicide Prevention and co-founder and Past President of the International Academy for Suicide Research, of which he co-founded the journal...[READ MORE]

Edgardo Reich, MD, Argentina
Treasurer (2024-2025)

Dr. Edgardo Reich, M.D. is a Board Certified Neurologist (National Academy of Medicine) who earned his Medical Degree from Buenos Aires University. After completed his residency training in Neurology he was Visiting Physician in the Neurobehavioral Unit and Memory Clinic at UCLA.
He worked in the last 30 years as Professor and Chairman of Neurology at Julio Mendez Hospital, in Buenos Aires, and Buenos Aires University School of Medicine... [READ MORE]

Manabu Ikeda, MD, PhD, Japan
Immediate Past President (2024-2025)

Dr. Ikeda has been a professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Neuropathobiology, Faculty of Life Sciences at Kumamoto University since 2007. Much of his work has dealt with the clinical research in old age psychiatry and neuropsychology. His main interest is in behavioral and... [READ MORE]

IPA Board of Directors

 .   Term Ending 2024

Raymond Koopmans, MD, PhD, The Netherlands

Prof. dr. Koopmans has a chair in Elderly Care Medicine, especially long-term care. Elderly care Medicine is a unique specialty in the world with a three-year specialty training program. He is affiliated to the Department of Primary and Community Care: Centre for Family Medicine, Geriatric Care...[READ MORE]
Tomás León, MD, Chile

Since completing his Psychiatry residence, Dr León has evolved from a general mental health practice to an exclusive focus on psychogeriatrics and dementia. He has worked most of his career in old age mental health, first coordinating psychogeriatric teams. Currently he works in one of the first Memory Units in Chile...[READ MORE]

.   Term Ending 2025   .

Liat Ayalon, PhD, Israel

Prof. Liat Ayalon is a clinical psychologist and a researcher in the School of Social Work, at Bar Ilan University, Israel. Her main area of research for the past decade has been ageism: Prejudice, discrimination and stereotypes towards people because of their age. Between 2014-2018, Prof. Ayalon led an international research network...[READ MORE]
Hilde Verbeek, PhD, The Netherlands

Dr. Verbeek is an Associate Professor at the Department of Health Services Research, within the Care and Public Health Research Institute of Maastricht University, the Netherlands. She is the Scientific Director of the Living Lab in Ageing and Long-Term Care. [READ MORE]
Terence W. ChongMBBS, MPsychiatry, MBA, FRANZCP, Cert. Old Age Psych, Australia

Dr Terence Chong is a Psychiatrist Clinician Researcher in the mental health of older adults.  He is Senior Research Fellow in Psychiatry of Old Age – a joint appointment between The University of Melbourne and St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne.  He also holds clinical appointments as a psychiatrist...[READ MORE]

Kiran Rabheru MD, CCFP, FRCP, DABPN, Canada

Dr. Kiran Rabheru is a Full Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Ottawa.  He is certified as a subspecialist in Geriatric Psychiatry by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC). He is also Board Certified as a Geriatric Psychiatrist by the...[READ MORE]

.   Term Ending 2027 

Rob Madan MD, FRCP(C), Canada

Dr. Robert Madan attended medical school at the University of Western Ontario, Canada, and completed his psychiatry residency at the University of Toronto. Dr. Madan has the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada designation of Geriatric Psychiatrist....[READ MORE]

Deborah Oliveira, PhD, Chile

Deborah Oliveira is a Registered Nurse with a PhD by the University of Nottingham, United Kingdom. I currently work as Lecturer and Researcher at the Faculty of Nursing, Universidad Andrés Bello, Chile. I am interested in research about the psychosocial experiences of people living with dementia and of their carers...[READ MORE]

Ex Officio

Jen Kowalski,  Executive Director, United States

Past Presidents

Manfred Bergener, Germany, Founding President (1982-1987)
Gosta Bucht, Sweden (1987-1989)
Kazuo Hasegawa, Japan (1989-1991)
Sanford I. Finkel, United States (1991-1993 and 1994-1995)
Bertil Steen, Sweden (1993-1994)
Raymond Levy, England, United Kingdom (1995-1997)
Barry Reisberg, United States (1997-1999)
Edmond Chiu, Australia (1999-2001)
Alistair Burns, England, United Kingdom (2001-2003)
George Grossberg, United States (2003-2005)
Joel Sadavoy, Canada (2005-2007)
Helen Fung-kum Chiu, SAR PR China (2007-2009)
Masatoshi Takeda, Japan (2009-2011)
Jacobo Mintzer, United States (2011-2013)
Henry Brodaty, Australia (2013-2015)
Raimundo Mateos, Spain (2015-2017)
Mary Sano, United States (2017-2019)
William Reichman, Canada (2019-2021)
Manabu Ikeda, Japan (2021-2023)



Acadia Pharmaceuticals Avanir Pharmaceuticals Cambridge University Press