Cookie Notice

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our cookies information for more details.

Back to Top

2020 Virtual Congress

The 2020 IPA Virtual Congress theme is “Mental health for people of Old Age in a rapidly changing world. This theme reflects the impact that the modern world can have on the mental health of people of old age. This has been demonstrated by the effects of social distancing during the Coronavirus restrictions on older people.

On behalf of IPA and Congress Organizing Committee Co-Chairs, Raimundo Mateos, Luiz Cortez Pinto and Lia Fernandes, we are excited to welcome you to the 2020 IPA Virtual International Congress. For the first time, attendees will be able to participate in both LIVE and ON-DEMAND presentations. All presentations remain of the highest caliber and offer continuing medical education (CME) credit as applicable. Click links below to learn more about each type of program as well as CME credits. Attendees can choose to register for the LIVE program only, the ON-DEMAND option only, or receive a discount when registering for both.

Click here to see registration rates for both LIVE and ON-DEMAND programs.

Keynote Speaker Prof John Beard          Prof Diego de Leo
Day 1 - Keynote Presentation:
Creating a world that promotes mental health and well being in older people

by Prof. John Beard
University of Sydney, Australia

Learn more and see the full line up of LIVE programming here.
         Day 2 - Keynote Presentation:
Suicide in Older Adults: Knowledge, predictions, fears

by Prof. Diego de Leo
Australian Institute for Suicide Research and Prevention
Primorska University, Slovenia

Learn more and see the full line up of LIVE programming here.


Click here to see the full line up of six LIVE Symposia each day across three time slots, complete with learning objectives, and presenter details. Choose one -or choose all- and earn CME credit when you view any of the ten ON-DEMAND symposia.


With more than 60 Free/ Oral presentations to choose from, there is something for all older adult mental health professionals to choose from: BPSD to Telehealth, Capacity to Research and more. These short presentations feature posters from a wide range of topics, clinical practice, research, study analyses, and more - nearly 75 to choose from to maximize your learning.


Acadia Pharmaceuticals Otsuka Pharmaceuticals Cambridge University Press Avanir Pharmaceuticals